Connections, connections, connections

Through a friend of a friend of a friend….

I love my international life that allows me to meet amazing people who have impacted my life in so many different ways and for so long! Having worked in 4 international schools my people connections have grown considerably since my first overseas post in 2016.  The expanse of reliable technology has played a key role in the ability to stay connected to friends as well as technology companies that promote education.

So through Leanne and then Scott I meet Lauren who lives in South Africa and teaches 2nd grade. We connected via Mystery Skype and spent 30 minutes guessing their country. Her 2nd graders were extremely polite, considerate, respectful and possessed amazing critical thinking skills. They discovered our country in less than 10 guesses! It took longer to figure out the city but time was not on their side as we had to move on to Reading class.

Jeff’s students were excited,

P5220130.JPG

camera enamored,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and were thoughtful with their questions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They narrowed down the country in less than 8 questions! Well done. They even figured out the city and the school they were at.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As one of the students asked before can we do this every day? I say I would love to. I am energized, excited, and more geographically intelligent than when I started.

Not being from the country you live in brings the awareness that you do not really know where you live until you are asked questions you cannot answer.  Thank goodness for globes, maps, atlases, and Google as we looked up questions they asked us and looked up questions to ask them.

P5220116.JPG

P5220119.JPG

The joy of success!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This entry was posted in Digital Citizenship, Global Connections, Map Skills. Bookmark the permalink.